Democracy Now: 2010 Right Livelihood Award Winners Announced

And the 2010 Right Livelihood Awards have been announced with four recipients. The Nigerian environmental activist Nnimmo Bassey of Friends of the Earth International has been honored for opposing “the practices of multinational corporations in his country and the environmental devastation they leave behind” and “for his inspired work to strengthen the environmental movement in Nigeria and globally.” Catholic Bishop Erwin Kraeutler was cited for a “lifetime of work for the human and environmental rights of indigenous peoples” in Brazil. Kraeutler helped win protections for indigenous rights in Brazil’s constitution and has been a leading opponent of the Belo Monte Dam. Shrikrishna Upadhyay of Nepal was chosen “for demonstrating…the power of community mobilisation to address the multiple causes of poverty even when threatened by political violence and instability.” Upadhyay is the founder of a group that’s helped finance hundreds of water systems, rural roads and schools in Nepal, as well as hand out loans. And the Israeli group Physicians for Human Rights has been awarded “for their indomitable spirit in working for the right to health for all people in Israel and Palestine.” The Right Livelihood Awards are awarded annually and are widely known as the “Alternative Nobel Prize.”

~ by wheresthemic on September 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: