Democracy Now: Romney Vows to Boost Military Spending, Cut Public Funding


In last night’s presidential debate, Mitt Romney challenged President Obama’s assertion that his tax plan would cost the country $5 trillion in revenue, but did acknowledge he would cut spending on government programs while drastically increasing funding for the military. In a jab that quickly exploded on Twitter, Romney told moderator Jim Lehrer he would cut funds to his employer, PBS, despite his love for a certain Sesame Street character.

Mitt Romney: “I’m sorry, Jim. I’m going to stop the subsidy to PBS. I’m going to stop other things. I like PBS. I love Big Bird. I actually like you too. But I’m not going to — I’m not going to keep on spending money on things to borrow money from China to pay for it.”

~ by wheresthemic on October 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
